Short presentation thread

Developer
May 19, 2011 at 8:39 AM

Thought it would be fun if everyone to tell a little about themselves, so I'll go first. 

My name is Daniel and I'm 38 years old with a wife and a 2 year old daughter, living in Bjärred. My background is Microsofty, and I've always been involved in backend development rather than frontend (although I dabble a bit with jQuery, but hey who doesn't =). For the last six years I've been running my own company (Consulence AB). We do consulting in the Microsoft-arena and have developed a bunch of iPhone apps. 

My role in this project was backend at first, but has started to drift more towards marketing. 

Looking forward to hearing about you and to a freaking awesome collection of apps. 

Coordinator
May 19, 2011 at 10:36 AM

Super initiative, Daniel!

As you all know, my name is Christer, and I'm the original founder of this project. I'm a 34 year old Swe-Dane living in Malmö with my girlfriend and dog. Since finishing my studies in '99, I've primarily been doing consulting focused entirely around the development of software on the Microsoft platform. I've have experience in developing web sites, Intranet web applications and Windows applications. I'm currently doing consulting on a freelance basis through my company Stratal ApS.

The applications done in my professional life have all been propriety, closed source software. I wanted the Malmö festival for Android app to be some different/better this year, but couldn't really decide on the what and the how. After reading a couple of books on Open Source, I saw better opportunities in making the source open, and then invite people in to influence and help develop the future app. So for me, this project is very exciting: It's closed source gone open, it involves working with awesome people, and, most of all, it's super fun!